2013 Book Challenges


Being relatively new to the book blogging world, I haven’t yet had a chance to participate in any yearly reading challenges hosted by other sites, although I’ve really enjoyed reading the recent round-up posts by my favourite bloggers! So next year, I’m going to make sure I participate in a few challenges myself, as well as keeping on top of my TBR pile and new submissions.

I’ve been having a scout around and so far found three such challenges that I’ve signed up for, although I’d love to do more (yes, practically everything I do revolves around books), so if you see any interesting/different looking ones then feel free to link me up!

The ones I’ve got so far are:

BoB6.0-300x200

 

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 7th and runs through Sunday, January 13th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 6.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.  

My goal is to read as many titles from my current NetGalley list as possible, as they’re quickly building up, and Spring publishing dates will seem a lot closer on the other side of Christmas!

 

celebrating-dickens-buttonThe 7 February happens to be Charles Dickens’ 201st anniversary, and to celebrate Klasik Fanda is running an event where everyone who signs up makes a promise to read any works of Dickens they like – his books, plays, short stories etc – or by watching any Dickens adaptations, or composing character studies, or comparative literature , or articles featuring Dickens himself. The aim is to post as much about Dickens as you possible can throughout February, not just on the 7th! I personally wish to re-read The Tale of Two Cities and begin The Old Curiosity Shop and The Mystery of Edwin Drood, stories I’ve been wanting to read since secondary school but never really sat down and got stuck into!

 

Wishlist Challenge 2013This is a simple challenge, basically over the 12 months of 2013 you must read 12 books that are already on your wishlist prior to January 1st. If you can’t find a book that’s on your wishlist (your library doesn’t have it, or you don’t want/can’t buy it) then you can use another book. But: you are not allowed to include any NEWLY added books for this challenge. So, whatever your list is now, that’s it! You can overlap with other challenges, as long as you read books that were on your wishlist before January 1st, 2013. My 12 books (and you can check my current Goodreads shelf to prove I’m not cheating!) will be:

1. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

2. The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

3. The Book of Lost Things by John Conolly

4. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

5. Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

6. Little Face by Sophie Hannah

7. Mr Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

8. The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco

9. The Reader by Bernhard Schlink

10. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

11. A Scanner Darkly by Philip K. Dick

12. Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane.

 

So, these are my challenges. If you want to sign up to any, click on the blog links above, or search ‘2013 reading challenges’ on twitter or Google for more inspiration! If you find any fantasy/SF/crime based ones, be sure to let me know, because I’d LOVE to do one like that. If all goes well, I’ll think about hosting a challenge myself in 2014!

 

What challenges are you doing in the new year? What are your bookish resolutions?

 

6 thoughts on “2013 Book Challenges

  1. Nice choices! Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is one of my faves and Dennis Lehane is always brilliant. I tried reading The Colour of Magic last year but just couldn’t get used to it not having any chapters!

    • Yeah TCOM is weird isn’t it! I started it a few years ago but got distracted by Uni and then left it at my parents house, so it’s about time I give it another go!

      Hoping to get ELAIC for Christmas, if not, Christmas monies! I loved Shutter Island the movie, and have heard the book is just as creepy and unsettling, if not more so, so I’m really excited about that 😀

  2. Awesome resolutions! Let me know what ‘The Reader’ is like, I was thinking of reading it after I enjoyed the film – I think there’ll be so much more depth in the book. Good luck with completing your list! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Everything is Possible if You Read Books | Mind Connections

Comment

