”The Broke and The Bookish” Secret Santa Reveal!


As you’ll have seen on my sidebar, a few months ago I signed up to the Secret Santa project organised by The Broke and the Bookish, a low key and fun version of a popular gift giving tradition that centres all around BOOKS!

The rules were simple – when you signed up, you submitted a list of 10 titles currently on your wishlist, and a few hobbies/things you were interested in; and you were then in turn sent another persons wishlist and desired items from which you had to choose 1 or 2 books and a little present to send them based on what they’d written.

I actually received my parcel a few weeks ago and have been DYING to open it as I could practically smell the books inside, and, as I’m not going to have my laptop with my over the Christmas period thought that if I opened it a little bit early I’d have a chance to blog about it before going AWOL! So, tonight I excitedly opened THESE…

SS 1

to reveal THESE beauties!

SS2

(sorry for the bad quality photo, I don’t have a camera so used my rather old smartphone!)

That’s The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco, The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett, a bag of loose leaf Earl Grey tea and a white chocolate lolly.

I can read and drink proper tea and nibble on white chocolate. This is PERFECTION. Thank you so much to my Not-So-Secret-Anymore Santa Bex from An Armchair By The Sea!

I was surprised and pleased to get a gift from a blog I was already following, as it was really nice to be able to put a familiar face/name to the name on my card. I actually read The Colour of Magic way back in high school and have been desperate to re-read it for a while, and The Name of the Rose has been hanging around on my TBR pile for months and months, so those two really were a perfect choice!

I gifted to Fay from Blog-a-Book Etc, you can see she received her gifts here but as she hasn’t posted the Big Reveal yet, I can’t tell you what I got her!

This project was incredibly fun and a brilliant way of becoming more ingrained into the book blogging community and for finding new blogs to follow, and, of course, as a way of getting some lovely new books to read. As books can be bought second-hand or thrifted, and gifts can be anything at all, however large or small, there’s no financial pressures or any need to go beyond your means – anything at all will be a fabulous surprise, and as you yourself have submitted your list, you should receive something you love! I really hope the girls at TBATB carry on this tradition for a fourth year running in 2013, as I’ll definitely be participating again, and strongly recommend it to any bloggers, not just book reviewers alone, if you like reading this is the perfect thing to get involved with!

Once again, a huge thank you to Bex and TBATB, and a Happy Christmas to Fay (hope you like your gifts!) and all my other readers!

3 thoughts on “”The Broke and The Bookish” Secret Santa Reveal!

  1. OMG I cannot wait to open mine! And even though I am working 24/25/26 I will be posting as soon as opened. Merry Christmas hun and thanks before the big reveal! xxx

  2. Opened my presents when I got home from work this christmas morning before sleeping for tonights shift and had the BIGGEST smile on my face 😀 I have had my eye on that phone case for soooooooo long! THANK YOUUUUUUU! Look out for my post about my gift! Coming soon! :D:D:D

Comment

