2013 Exciting New Releases (Part One).


So, I’m back!

Hello to old followers and new ones alike, it’s lovely to come back to some new blogs to check out! I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and fabulous New Year; I’ve been busy flitting around the country visiting various friends and eating and drinking too much and probably not reading enough – but I had a brilliant few weeks and am now excited to get back into the swing of books and blogging and editing and working and sleeping!

For my first blog of 2013, I debated doing a ‘Round Up of 2012’ post, as I’ve seen a few really good ones on other book blogs – but as I only really started reading new releases/blogging in October, I realized I don’t actually have that many reviews of newly released books at my disposal, so I’m leaving that for another year! Instead, I’m going to talk about some of the books I’m most excited about that are due to be published over the next two or three months, with the second installment coming at the end of March when more titles/publishing dates have been released!

So, without further ado, here is a brief outline of what the next few months have to offer, book-wise:

Books I’m Most Excited For In 2013 (Part One):

Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles

Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles by Ron Currie Jr

Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles is told from the point of the view of a writer—one who in many ways resembles the real Ron Currie, Jr.—who has retreated to a tropical island after a series of devastating incidents. Rather than finding solace and inspiration in paradise, he descends into a miasma of alcohol, careless destruction, and casual comfort with a spring-breaking co-ed. FLPM promises ‘darkly funny, deeply moving prose’, a ‘groundbreakingly gifted voice’ and an ‘interrogation of the concepts of truth and honesty, and reality’ which forges an unsettling link between fiction and autobiography. According to its author, this is an ‘urgent, unforgettable novel that makes our natural urge to know the truth a source of provocation’. I stumbled upon this proof by accident a few weeks, and can’t say I’ve read anything else that sounds quite like it – I’m not quite sure what to expect, but am definitely intrigued enough to give it a go! FLPM is due for release in February (but can currently be requested on NetGalley) and will be published by Penguin Group Viking.

Room No 10

Room No. 10 by Ake Edwardson

Room No. 10 promises to be a ‘dramatic, first-rate police procedural, infused with the cruelly beautiful seaside atmosphere of Gothenburg, a city that is as much a character in the novel as any human’. As a long term fan of Scandinavian Noir, this accolade alone would probably be enough to make me want to read this book; seeing the ‘pre-blurb’ on NetGalley only makes me even more excited for it. CI Erik Winter (of Sail of Stone fame) is investigating the murder of a woman in a hotel room which eerily mirrors a similar case from 20 years earlier, where a woman went missing from the very same hotel room. Faced with evidence from the new investigation, Eric quickly concludes that the missing woman must also have been murdered, and sets out on a dangerous and potentially life-threatening journey to find the killer, whom he is convinced will strike again unless brought to justice. Scary, suspenseful, Swedish…what more could I need from a crime thriller?! Room No.10 is due for release is March and will be published by Simon & Schuster.

The Trajectory of Dreams by Nicole Wolverton

I stumbled across The Trajectory of Dreams whilst browsing my recommended list on Goodreads, and couldn’t really work out what to make of it – it’s either going to be really, really good, or just too bizarre to work. I’m not-so-secretly hoping it does work, because the premise has the potential to be one of those unusual works of brilliance – main character Lela is a Houston Space Station lab technician in charge of monitoring astronauts sleep patterns to ensure only those with optimized health are allowed to partake in missions; yet what her colleagues don’t know is that Lela herself is in the grip of a terrifyingly unstable mental disorder than could threaten the life and livelihoods of everyone she ‘treats’. She acts as a self-confessed ‘judge, jury and executioner’, subjecting astronauts to her dangerous ‘tests’ that she believes are helping the greater good. Until now, every astronaut has passed these unofficial exams, without even knowing of them, but Lela admits herself she doesn’t know what she would do if one of them were to one day fail. I don’t know if this appeals to me because it’s weird or because it features space, but either way, I’m really really rooting for this book. It’s due for release in March, and will be published by Bitingduck Press. Don’t let me down, TTOD!

 The Mad Scientists Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clark

I’m not going to say much about this book, as I’m actually working my way through the proof copy right now so want to save all the juicy details for my upcoming review, but I wanted to include it on my list of books to look out for because it is FANTASTIC. Really. It’s one of those books that you just instantly love and can’t put down. They crop up from time to time, and when they do, you know you’ve found a classic – you don’t just enjoy reading it, you need to read it, and when you’ve finished it, it’s all you can think about and talk about. I’m just under halfway through and already at that stage. Five days into 2013 and I’ve already decided that this book is going on my Best of 2013 list. It’s a story about a robot boy and a human girl, a story filled with tragedy, heartbreak, love, confusion, intimacy and destruction. It’s sad. Very sad. It will make you cry. And hell, it has ROBOTS. I dare anyone to not like this book. When it comes out in about a months times, published by Angry Robot, buy it and consume it. Immediately.

Clockwork Dolls by William Meikle

Clockwork Dolls is a philosophically minded SF novel exploring the nature of memory, thought, mind and imagination; their origins, how they’re affected, whether they can be created or artificially manipulated. Does all human passion, all memory, all imagination come merely from the chemistry in our brains, like the movements of a clock follow from the arrangement of its cogs and wheels? Basically – are we all merely clockwork dolls? Alternatively, is there some kind of organization body in existence, a higher power, some kind of controller? And if there is… are we able to recognize it? Can we ask it if it exists? Can we ask it why we exist? Dave Burns, main protagonist, has wondered all these questions and many more. And he’s asked them. Though what, or who, or even how he asked, remains a mystery, even to him. What remains to be seen is whether he’ll ever get an answer, and, if he does, whether he can stay alive long enough to understand it… Part mystery/thriller, part SF, part speculative fiction, Clockwork Dolls is published at the end of January by DarkFuse and is going to throw up some very interesting questions in your own head, and make you think. A lot. About everything. And that’s basically all we can ask of a book, right?

Please let me know if you read/enjoy/hate any of these titles, or if you’ve seen something similar and would like to recommend it to me – no matter how large my TBR pile gets, I always welcome more!

Did anyone get any good books for Christmas? What titles are you most excited for over the next few months?

2 thoughts on “2013 Exciting New Releases (Part One).

  1. Pingback: REVIEW! ”Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles” by Ron Currie Jr. | Reader. Writer. Nerd.

Comment

