Holiday Reads & A Little Request!


I never expected when I planned to write this post that it’d be going live to a snow swept, freezing cold, blustery English tundra. It makes me feel a bit silly (and unintentionally smug!) doing it, given the topic – I’m going on holiday to Tenerife next week, and I’d like to ask all you lovely readers for some advice and maybe a favour or two!

Obviously, whilst I will be taking a break from blogging until I get back, I won’t be taking a break from reading. In fact, I’ll probably be reading more than ever, as I’ll have no other freelance or study commitments, no chores, and a little bit of disposable income to spend on books before I leave… as a result I’ve decided to read only ‘choice’ novels; that is to say books that I’ve chosen and paid for myself, and not any review requests, promo materials or gifted ARC’s. (For as much as I love the look of many of the ones I currently have, my personal TBR pile has been getting a bit neglected lately, and I’m really looking forward to a whole 10 days of picking stories from scratch!) So, my first teeny request to all of you is to help me pick which books to take, and beg some advice/recs/feedback for the titles I’ve shortlisted so far! 

BLOG THING

I’m allowing myself one book per day (I probably won’t actually read at this speed, but it’s always better to have too many) and am aiming for a mix of genres – as you’ve probably noticed I don’t really like the stereotypical ‘holiday read’ romances or chick lit – and so any recommendations pertaining to Crime/SF/Fantasy/Contemporary fiction will be gratefully received! If you do check out my shortlist above, let me know if you’ve read anything on there and what you think, and whether you think it’s worthy of claiming a precious Holiday Day!

The second favour I have to ask is…..would any of you like to be a guest blogger for me whilst I’m 2500 miles away, reading my way through the aforementioned mini-library? I’ve never hosted anyone before, as this blog is still fairly new in the grand scheme of things, but I’ve taken part in a few – remember my reviews for Odd Socks & Pretty Frocks back in November? – and they’re REALLY FUN. I’m open to any offers, it doesn’t have to be a book review per se as long as the subject is in keeping with Reader.Writer.Nerd, and it can be of any length you like! Obviously I’d assume any takers would be posting about SOMETHING book/fiction/reading related, but like I say, I’m a pretty big fan of most things in those areas, so really I’m offering a ‘carte blanche’! If you’re interested, or know someone who might be, feel free to tweet me or comment with a brief overview of what you’d like to write about, I’ll get back to you within a couple of hours with a yes or no (we both already know it’s going to be a yes) and then as long as you email me your final draft including any pics/instructions by Sunday 31 March I’ll schedule your moment of fame!

All posts will be going live between 2-10 April, I have an automatic alert set up with twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn and tumblr, and of course you’ll be more than welcome to promo your post in whatever way and using whatever social media platforms you like. I’m REALLY looking forward to hearing your advice/ideas, and whilst I obviously won’t be able to pay anyone to write a guestpost, I can promise to wholeheartedly love and respect you for the rest of my days! And if I ever get the chance to meet you in person, you will be on the happy receiving end of a drink or piece of cake of your choice. Or both.

People, GO GO GO!

9 thoughts on “Holiday Reads & A Little Request!

      • About 17% (it’s on Kindle) and it’s dragging. I don’t like any of the characters, I don’t love to hate any of the characters, the supposed-to-be-gripping-and-twisting-plot is mildly intriguing at most…

  1. Ahhh I get you completely, I’ve felt the same with a few other books. Mediocrity is the worst emotion with regards books! Maybe I’ll request a chapter (I have Amazon Prime) and see if I think I’ll like it then. Thanks for the feedback 🙂

    • Ooh, good to know! I saw on Goodreads when I added it to my shortlist that you and Sarah had read/rated it highly, I’m excited to read it!
      I’ll be very pleased to have you as a guest poster if you fancy it, I always enjoy your blogs/fiction pieces 🙂

    • Ayee, I’ve had it on my to read pile for SO long and heard/seen so many brilliant reviews of it…the reddit books sub LOVES it as well. I want to start it now! 😉

  2. Pingback: Bookish Q&A. | Reader. Writer. Nerd.

Comment

